Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Trinidad and Tobago
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Trinidad and Tobago. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago is a twin island nation located less than seven miles off of the coast of Venezuela. Considered a South American nation, Trinidad and Tobago currently celebrates 14 national holidays. Two additional holidays are celebrated traditionally in this country but they are not officially sanctioned by the government.

Holidays are regulated under the Public Holidays and Festivals Act of 1872 which has only been amended one time to include an additional date of celebration. This Act establishes all of the national holidays, provides the Prime Minister with the right to add one-time holidays throughout the year if necessary, and allows holidays that occur on a Sunday to be celebrated on the following Monday. In addition, this Act states that if two holidays occur on the same date, an additional day of recognition can be added.

The Labor Laws of Trinidad and Tobago provide all employees with a paid day off for nationally recognised holidays. If employees are required to work during a national holiday due to their job position, they must be provided with a paid day off in lieu of the holiday.

Several of the holidays in Trinidad and Tobago are based on religious beliefs. Some of the dates for these holidays are based on the lunar cycle. The government of Trinidad and Tobago will release an official calendar each year showing the official dates for these celebrations. Employers are required to comply with national holiday laws for these celebrations, regardless of their celebration date each year.

Muslim holidays use the lunar cycle based off of the Umm al-Qura calendar of Saudi Arabia. Hindu based holidays use the calendar most associated with the Northern India region. Holidays for both of these religions may be celebrated a day later in Trinidad and Tobago due to the International Date Line.

Cultural and Religious Holidays

Trinidad and Tobago has a very diverse culture and many belief systems. The government of Trinidad and Tobago acknowledges that each of these cultures and religious beliefs have many special holidays that they celebrate. However, the government does not recognise any additional holidays as national events.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year's Day Holiday
30 MarThuSpiritual Baptist Liberation Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
30 MayTueIndian Arrival Day
15 JunThuCorpus Christi
19 JunMonLabour Day
26 JunMonEid Ul-Fitr
1 AugTueEmancipation Day
31 AugThuIndependence Day
24 SepSunRepublic Day
25 SepMonRepublic Day Holiday
18 OctWedDivali *
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day