Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Puerto Rico
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Puerto Rico. Please scroll down to view.

The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is an island nation located in the Northern Caribbean and is an unincorporated territory of the United States of America. Puerto Rico celebrates 20 national holidays each year. Holidays in Puerto Rico are regulated under the “Laws Regulating the Operations of Commercial Establishments.

Under the laws, only eight of the national holidays are paid holidays for the general public. Government offices and banks are the only ones who receive paid days off for the remaining 12 holidays. All banks and government offices are closed on national holidays.

Labour laws in Puerto Rico state that employees should receive a paid day off for national holidays that apply to the public. If an employee is required to work on a national holiday based on their job requirements, that employee is entitled to receive a premium wage for work performed on that day.

The laws governing holidays provide the government with the authority to establish one-time national holidays for special events. These holidays have been used for election days and hurricane clean up. The law does not require employers to pay employees for these onetime events.

Many of the holidays celebrated in Puerto Rico are based on the Christian faith. Some of these holidays change in date each year because their celebrations are based on the lunar cycle. The government of Puerto Rico requires all employers to recognise these holidays even though their dates change.

Cultural, Religious, and Regional Holidays

Puerto Rico has a diverse culture that includes indigenous populations. Many of these cultures have their own holidays that they celebrate each year. In addition to these culturally based celebrations, there are also many religious celebrations and feast days celebrated throughout the island that are not officially recognised by the government.

Carnival, or the two days before Ash Wednesday, is celebrated in Puerto Rico even though it is not officially recognised. Many businesses close during this celebration. The government of Puerto Rico does not require any business to participate in Carnival celebrations.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
6 JanFriThree Kings Day / Epiphany
16 JanMonMartin Luther King, Jr. Day
20 FebMonPresidents' Day, Washington's Birthday
22 MarWedEmancipation Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
14 MaySunMother's Day
29 MayMonMemorial Day
18 JunSunFather's Day
4 JulTueIndependence Day
25 JulTueConstitution Day
4 SepMonLabor Day
9 OctMonColumbus Day
11 NovSatVeterans Day
19 NovSunDiscovery Day
20 NovMonDiscovery Day Holiday
23 NovThuThanksgiving Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day