Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Ecuador. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of Ecuador is a country located in the North Western part of South America. Ecuador is also the governing body for the Galapagos Islands in the Pacific Ocean. Ecuador celebrates several holidays throughout the year, with a majority of these holidays coinciding with the Catholic faith.

Holidays in Ecuador are regulated by the Ministry of Labor and currently adhere to regulations set forth in the Labor Code issued on June 30, 1977 and later confirmed in 1994. Only one amendment has been made to this labour code in 2007 by Decree 2369. This Decree increased the length of time for the Carnival celebration.

A majority of the holidays officially celebrated in Ecuador are based on the lunar calendar and often fall on different dates each year. The government has requested that all businesses respect these changing dates and honour the national holidays per law.

Ecuador’s labour laws require that employers provide a day off to their employees for nationally recognised holidays. Pay for these holidays is based on the workers contract with the employer. Employees that are required to work on a holiday due to the nature of their business are required to receive a different day off for holiday celebrations.

It should be noted that Ecuador firmly believes in the long weekend for holiday celebrations. If a regular holiday falls in the middle of the week, the government will change the recognition date for that year to fall on a Monday or Friday to allow for an extended weekend.

Cultural, Religious, Provincial, and Professional Holidays

Ecuador has a very vast indigenous culture that consists of many different tribes and languages. Many of these cultures have special holidays that are celebrated throughout the year. While the government acknowledges these celebrations, businesses are not compelled to provide days off for any holidays other than nationally recognised dates.

There are also several provincial holidays that are celebrate in Ecuador. A few of these are recognised by the government and are only considered a national holiday in those regions. These holidays include Guayaquil Day (25 July) and Quito Day (6 December). These celebrations are nationally recognised but only celebrated within those cities.

Professional holidays may also occur throughout the year and in different providences. However, December 30 is a recognised day for all banks to be closed, even though it is not recognised on a national level.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
27 FebMonCarnival
28 FebTueCarnival
14 MarTueGood Friday
1 MayMonInternational Worker's Day
26 MayFriBattle of Pichincha
11 AugFriNational Day Holiday
9 OctMonIndependence of Guayaquil
2 NovThuAll Souls' Day
3 NovFriIndependence of Cuenca
25 DecMonChristmas Day