Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Cuba. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of Cuba is an island nation located in the Caribbean. Cuba currently celebrates eight national holidays each year. One of these holidays is a three-day celebration that occurs each year. Another group of holidays turn into a three-day celebration, but each day is for a different event. Only two of the holidays celebrated in Cuba have a religious background.

Good Friday recently became a national holiday at the request of Pope Benedict XVI. Christmas was re-established as a holiday in 1998 at the request of Pope John Paul II.

The Cuban government releases a list of non-working holidays each year. This generally occurs at the end of December for the following year. Different ministries make this announcement each year.

It is unknown at this time if employees are paid for their holidays. However, most references to holidays in Cuba only have them listed as non-working days. It is believed that some government officials may receive pay for their holidays, but this cannot be confirmed. Information regarding pay standards for government employees is not available at this time.

Religious, Cultural and Regional Celebrations

Almost 10 percent of the Cuban population lives on smaller islands that surround the main island of Cuba. On these islands many people practice indigenous religions or Santeria. These religions have many holidays that are celebrated throughout the year. The government of Cuba acknowledges that these celebrations occur, but does not recognise them as national holidays.

In addition to these religious beliefs, there may be different cultural or regional celebrations that take place on the various islands or in different areas of the main Cuban island. Again, the government does not recognise these celebrations as national events and will not provide any special treatment for employees to attend or participate in these celebrations.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunTriumph of the Revolution / Liberation Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
14 AprFriGood Friday
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 JulTueNational Revolutionary Holiday
26 JulWedNational Revolutionary Day
27 JulThuNational Revolutionary Holiday
10 OctTueIndependence Day
25 DecMonChristmas
31 DecSunYear End Celebration