Start Planning

Bolivia Public Holidays 2017

Today – 17 December 2017 – is not a holiday in Bolivia.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Bolivia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
22 JanSunPlurinational State Day
23 JanMonPlurinational State Day Holiday
27 FebMonCarnival
28 FebTueCarnival
14 AprFriGood Friday
1 MayMonLabour Day
15 JunThuCorpus Christi
21 JunWedAymara New Year
6 AugSunNational Day
7 AugMonNational Day Holiday
2 NovThuAll Souls' Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day

Visit for the original release.

Bolivia currently celebrates 10 national holidays and nine regional holidays each year. Bolivia is one of the few countries in the world to dedicate specific national holidays to each of its regions.

Public holidays in Bolivia are regulated by Decreto Supremo #27185 del 22 de Septiembre 2003. This Decree provides for 10 national holidays and one national holiday for each of the nine departments (regions) in the country. Article 67 of this decree further states that each branch of government, federal, department, or local have the authority to declare up to three additional one-time non-working holidays each year.

As of 2016, the Bolivian government made it official that any national holiday falling on a Sunday will be celebrated on the following Monday.